The Restoration Process
The Restoration Process

The Restoration Process

What Can Happen After Change Fails

GONATELLE & Greg Olney sites


Restoration is what can happen after change fails if God is part of your life.

These books have been written about change management. While it remains important in these series of books that great change (in quality rather than actual size of change) happens in each person’s life, this book is overtly Christian in its presentation. 

 Come learn how people have rebuilt after tragedies of war and death experiences. We’ll see how they’ve been restored to a place that they now are used by God for other people. I believe the only true way to be restored is to know God and be known by Him.

 Restoration is what can happen after change fails if God is part of your life. 

Site Content


R – Relationships

E – Education 

S – Self-awareness 

T – Translation

O – Obedience 

R – Removal

E – Execution

There seems to be a common thread with a restoration process that follows everyone going through it. I’ve captured it in the acronym RESTORE. 


This book reminded me that we live in a fallen world. We are all broken, and so we are all in need of “restoration.” In these pages, you’ll discover a road map for restoration, and a reminder that only God can accomplish this in our lives. ...Duane Roquemore

I found this book to be very enlightening! It clearly connects all of the other books in the series. The information provided is extremely useful for every day life. In addition, the examples and analogies that are used throughout the book are encouraging and Christian-based. I highly recommend The Restoration Process: What Can Happen After Change Fails! You won't be disappointed! ...Barb K

Well thought out and very motivational...Dr. Michael Stefano


Previous Books

The Transition Game was written about “doing transition” well so that you can be productive and go to the next step, task, or level. We traveled through the four stages between “Status Quo” and “Commitment to Change”. Those four stages are:

Getting Over It – The title of this stage explains how we need to understand our own nature that would keep us mired in the Status Quo. This stage also covers the catalysts that cause change and knowing what the Status Quo was all about in the first place. This phase talks to what we can get rid of so that we can move out of the Status Quo.

Fear – The Fear stage may be the most difficult with any transition. Fear paralyzes some people. Fear may be a reason that people stay where they are or are rebellious against (or for) change. However, Fear can be useful. Fear can be used to ensure that moving from the Status Quo is, initially, important enough and can be successful in the long run.

Balance – This is the most forward-looking of any stage. This is where the real Transformation starts to happen. Balance requires flexibility and an eye on where the change leads. It begs the question, “Am I getting to my goal more effectively?”

Doing What It Takes is the implementation phase. This stage is where the action of Performing With Intensity and Doing the Right Thing for the Right Reason takes place. This stage also sets up roadblocks to never go back to the Status Quo and to stay ahead of the curve so focus can be kept on what's ahead. Lastly, this stage “shares”. For change to be successful, it cannot be selfish. This stage passes it on.

All of these stages define the steps to move toward the fifth and final stage:

Commitment to Change – Asking the question, “Is your decision something that's just a good idea or is this something that you're committed to?” is what the fifth stage is all about. If change is just nice to have, the commitment may not exist. If true commitment exists, any hurdles can be overcome to get to the desired change.

In the book, Commitment to Change, we explored the 5 Cs that transform your life and business: Consideration, Certainty, Charter, Character, and finally Commitment. 

Why Change Fails 

It would have been better  if I reverse-ordered my books. I would have had Why Change Fails first, Commitment to Change second, and The Transition Game third. I really should have written this book, Why Change Fails, first. 

When my dad taught us to ski, he would first teach us why change fails. He would initially teach us how to get up from a fallen position. It was inevitable that we would fall.